Let Them Eat Cake – A Night At The Movies

Let Them Eat Cake A Night at the Movies

Let Them Eat Cake
A Night at the Movies

EVENT:  Let Them Eat Cake

THEME:  A Night At The Movies
BENEFIT:   City of Hope

April 15th was the 9th Annual Wedding Cake Design Competition showcasing 40 professionals, students, and amateur bakers.  Each embraced the theme  ‘A Night at the Movies’ with the design of their cakes and even their flavors.

The beautiful Merion in Cinnaminson, NJ did a wonderful job hosting the event.  Sweet Genius, Ron Ben-Israel was on hand to taste and judge the event.

The Merion
1301 RT 130 South
Cinnaminson, NJ
themerion.com
856-829-2111

IMG_2345(1)

It was great meeting the Sweet Genius himself, Ron Ben-Israel

Macarons- of EVERY flavor including Lime Margarita

Macaroons- of EVERY flavor including Lime Margarita

the YUM! HIS HERs
photo(15) This to me screamed a Night at the Oscars. Very creative with a real old Hollywood feel. This was the first cake design that struck me as thinking outside the box. I like the incorporation of the Oscar and the old school black and white reels. I enjoyed the design. They may have played it a little safe, but safe outside the box, is still outside the box.
photo(17) It was incredibly moist with just the right hint of lemon. I love this cake! Student, #14, it was very lemony, very heavy and creamy without being overpowering.. not too overly sweet, lemony hints that did not over power. And yummy vanilla finish.

Bond, James Bond

Bond, James Bond

“Hi, I’m Bob.”
“Hi, I’m Jennifer.”
“Look at us, we’re sophisticated drinking our pink champagne.”(my impression of the girls)
LMAO! Gotta love that sexy look he gives… Seductive… He is actually making fun of mine and Bob (my friend Bob is a girl that does not like to be called Bob so as soon as she reads this it may change) and us drinking rose champagne/sparking wine..
It was FANTASTIC! Not overly sweet, had a great flavor and was very enjoyable.Just make sure to warn her when opening a bottle!
the YUM! HIS HERs

Won Best Taste and People Choice Awards

Won Best Taste and People Choice Awards
Peanut Butter Mousse Cake

It was sort of like a peanut butter parfait i guess.. uhh.. good crunchy peanuts, uhh a little bit of cake inside, very very peanut buttery and not to overly sweet. I think it was a soft peanut butter flavor, almost creamy. Were those chocolate chips? Not overpowering. The heavy cake inside complimented the strong peanut-y taste. LOVE this.. Very creative in the parfait glass..
They won Cake?? I thought it was a bunch of cheese…. Not sure what the cheese depiction of the cake had to do with the actual flavors OR about movies, but hey, I love cheese so who’s complaining.. Not me!
photo(31) I tried to Photo Bomb this pic but I was too late LOL This is Bob and I.. enjoying our Rose’ with cake.
I gain 20 lbs just looking at this Cake How cool is this!! This is a cake.. My favorite thing to eat at the movies are Good n Plenty’s.. HIS hates licorice… ALL MINE!
photo(20) I loved this cake!!!! it was sweet and buttery I was in popcorn heaven This was okay. Interesting, the cake actually tasted like popcorn. HIS loved it….. We differ with our opinions of desserts.
photo(28) photo 3 photo 2 photo 1 I’m not a wine drinker but these wines were fantastic they had a Sauvignon Blanc with a beautiful Grapefruit flavor that was amazing and their Merlot was off the charts HOLY WINE LOVE FEST!!The guys at the booth were great! Very friendly and knowledgable.The Cakebread Merlot- Now one of my top 10 favorite wines of all time.. Very cherry nose, deep red satiny texture and a smooth lingering softness in the mouth. Creamy chocolate with slight spice. MORE PLEASE!
The Sauvignon Blanc was from California and I usually do not like SB’s from Cali. I prefer New Zealand SB’s such as Kim Crawford and Sileni. But this one was very good. Fruitier than most Sauv’s, nice bold grapefruit flavors and had citrus with the crispness of a good Sauv. Will def drink again.
photo(21) was a little on the dry side for me but Jenn Loved it I loved this! This had dark chocolate layer, then cake, white vanilla cream layer than more cake. Powdered cocoa on top was a perfect topping with the creamy layers.
photo(22) This Cake scared me so I stayed away from the table lol… these cupcakes were too sweet for me like Jenn im not a big sweets person. but I love horror films so I loved the design These guys had many different flavors of cupcakes. I tried the mint cream on top of chocolate. Forget which one HIS had. Very minty and sugary. Little too sweet for my taste, but then again, I am not a sweet person. Their creativity with the different flavors was nice. Good variety!
photo(23) cute simple design This was the first table when you walk in.
photo(24) The artistry on this cake was breath taking it took me 5 mins of staring at it to appreciate all the detail that went into this cake.. BRAVO!! How rocking is this! Its a cake and lit up and the pendulum on the clock moved! A+++ for effort and creativity.This was from Truly Custom Cakery in Warminster, PA. The won for Best Artistry… Of Course!!
photo(26) Great Cake love the open theater and the wizard of oz theme YUMMMMMM… the carrot cake had so many different festive flavors! It was thick and gooey and wanted more..
photo(27) I love Carrot cake and this one was incredible I had to walk away or I could have eaten the entire table See above.. LOVE IT!!

2 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake – A Night At The Movies

Leave a comment